Wow. It’s been a while since I posted. In fact, it’s been…*squints*…two and a half years. Well, I have a perfectly good reason for that, which is this: I HAVE A NEW BOOK!

*cheers* *applause* *champagne*

It’s no exaggeration to say that for the past two years I’ve been in the writing bunker, writing, rewriting, rewriting again (and again, and again), editing (ditto), and, actually, I’m still not done (currently working on second pass pages – we are nothing if not thorough!)

Without further ado, here she is: the cover and a description of my newest and, thus far, my favorite book. I hope you like her as much as I do.

 

Philippa Gregory meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this witty and thrilling action-adventure novel of star-crossed assassins in Elizabethan England. Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

When Lady Katherine’s father is killed for being an illegally practicing Catholic, she discovers treason wasn’t the only secret he’s been hiding: he was also involved in a murder plot against the reigning Queen Elizabeth I. With nothing left to lose, Katherine disguises herself as a boy and travels to London to fulfill her father’s mission, and to take it one step further–kill the queen herself.

Katherine’s opportunity comes in the form of William Shakespeare’s newest play, which is to be performed in front of Her Majesty. But what she doesn’t know is that the play is not just a play–it’s a plot to root out insurrectionists and destroy the rebellion once and for all.

The mastermind behind this ruse is Toby Ellis, a young spy for the queen with secrets of his own. When Toby and Katherine are cast opposite each other as the play’s leads, they find themselves inexplicably drawn to one another. But the closer they grow, the more precarious their positions become. And soon they learn that star-crossed love, mistaken identity, and betrayal are far more dangerous off the stage than on.

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason, Cover Reveal, John Cusick, Little Brown, Pam Gruber
Comment

Pleased to share this wonderful review from The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books.

The Witch Hunter
By Virginia Boecker
June 2015/ $18/ Ages 15 & Up
ISBN 978-0-316-32700-8
Ebook ISBN 978-0-316-32718-3

Magic is outlawed in Boecker’s version of sixteenth-century England, and sixteen-year-old Elizabeth Grey is the best of the king’s witch hunters, tracking down wizards and witches to bring them to the Inquisitor, Lord Blackwell, for justice. Blackwell is somewhat of a father figure to Elizabeth but he is also absolutely merciless, and when Elizabeth is caught with forbidden herbs used to terminate her pregnancy (the result of Elizabeth’s being called to the king’s bed), he sends her to the dungeons to await her execution. Elizabeth is rescued by Nicholas Perevil, an aging but powerful wizard and enemy to the king and Blackwell. Suffering under a potent curse, Nicholas asks Elizabeth to join some of his closest allies in rooting out the responsible wizard in exchange for Nicholas’ protection against Blackwell and his ilk. The world-building here is comprehensive but concise, with Elizabeth’s narration effectively conveying the rules of this world without belaboring the point. Thrilling action scenes combine with a twisting plot to spur readers forward.

Perhaps most compelling, however, is Elizabeth’s character arc, which moves her from a girl so beholden to the men in her life that she hands her body over both physically and sexually, to an autonomous young adult making decisions for herself, outside of Blackwell’s and even Nicholas’ influence. Her romance with John, a healer capable of both strength and sensitivity, is one of equals, and he makes for a refreshing change from the conventional brooding bad boy or charming rogue. This will undoubtedly draw comparisons to Cashore’s Graceling (BCCB 1/09), and while it lacks that title’s nuance, it will satisfy fans of warrior girls who realize their own power.

The Witch Hunter, Trade Reviews
Comment

At long last, it’s here: the title and cover for the sequel to The Witch Hunter! And it’s just gorgeous. It’s given me a brand new appreciation for roses: if it’s not made of blood, then it’s not for me.

Thanks to USA Today/Happily Ever After for hosting the reveal, and for interview!

TKS_revised-2

Cover Reveal, The King Slayer
Comment

Excited to announce that The Witch Hunter is headed for Poland! Many thanks, as always, to my fantastic agent Kathleen Ortiz at New Leaf Literary + Media, and to Jaguar, my new Polish publisher!

Foreign Rights, The Witch Hunter
Comment

To celebrate the upcoming release of The Witch Hunter (12 days and counting!) I’m giving away a huge pack of swag: postcards, buttons, bookmarks, stickers, temporary tattoos, signed book plates, and the piece de resistance: custom sword and dagger earrings. (They’re to die for!)

It’s easy to enter: simply pre-order The Witch Hunter by June 1, 2015, email me proof of purchase at virginia@virginiaboecker.com, and that’s it! I’ll hold the drawing on June 2, 2015: publication day.

Good luck, and thank you for supporting The Witch Hunter!

IMG_0785

 

The Witch Hunter

Comment